APO Advisory Board members announced

APO is delighted to announce the Advisory Board for 2018. There are eight distinguished members of the board. In this post we give a brief bio of each of our members. The annual board meeting will take place on 2 August 2018 – we will update you on important insights and outcomes from this meeting.

Jane Farmer 7x8

Prof Jane Farmer (Chair)
Swinburne University of Technology

Jane is a Professor of Health & Social Innovation, Director of the Social Innovation Research Institute and Deputy Director of the Centre for Social Impact at Swinburne University. Jane is also the Lead Chief Investigator for the Australian Research Council (ARC) LIEF Linked Semantic Platforms project. Jane has a distinguished track record of research and publication in the areas of rural health services, innovations in health workforce and technology, community participation, co-production and social enterprise. She led a number of led large multidisciplinary, multi-site projects in Scotland and Australia.

Read Jane Farmer’s full bio.

Catherine Althaus 7x8 2Associate Professor Catherine Althaus
University of Melbourne & Australia and New Zealand School of Government (ANZSOG)

Catherine Althaus is the Associate Professor in the School of Social and Political Sciences, Faculty of Arts, University of Melbourne and ANZSOG Deputy Dean (Teaching and Learning). Catherine has been a co-author of The Australian Policy Handbook since 2007 and  editor of the Australian Journal of Public Administration since 2017. Before ANZSOG, Catherine spent nine years teaching and researching in Canada, where she became Director of the School of Public Administration at the University of Victoria, British Columbia. Prior to that, she was a post-doctoral fellow at the Australian National University, and held a number of policy posts with the Queensland Treasury department and Queensland Office of the Cabinet.

Read Catherine Althaus’ full bio.

Professor Lisa GivenLisa Given 7x8
Swinburne University of Technology

Lisa is the Associate Dean, Research and Development, for the Faculty of Health, Arts & Design at Swinburne University and is President of the Association for Information Science and Technology (ASIS&T). Lisa is also a Co-Investigator for the ARC Linkage Project ‘Library and Information Science Research Australia’. Lisa’s research interests include: individuals’ information behaviours; web usability and users’ experience of technology; research impact and engagement; qualitative research methods; and information use in the context of higher education.

Read Lisa Given’s full bio.

Peter Graham 7x8Professor Peter Graham
Swinburne University of Technology

Peter Graham is Professor at Smart Low Carbon Cities and Acting Director of the Swinburne Centre for Urban Transitions. He is also Director of the Global Buildings Performance Network –an international network of experts dedicated to achieving the mitigation of greenhouse gas emissions from the buildings sector and a Board member of the Buildings Performance Institute Europe. Peter has more than 15 years of experience in international advocacy, research and education in sustainable building design, construction, evaluation and policy.

Read Peter Graham’s full bio.

Professor Susan Luckman
University of South Australia (UniSA)

Susan is Professor of Cultural Studies in the School of Creative Industries, Director of the Creative People, Products and Places Research Group and Research Director for the Creative Work Mobilities Research Node, Hawke EU Centre at UniSA. Susan is an interdisciplinary cultural studies scholar whose work is concerned with the ‘intersections of culture, place and creativity’. Her research examines these relationships in relation to ‘work in the cultural and creative industries, digital media, and grassroots innovation’. Susan is the author of numerous publications, including  Craft and the Creative Economy.

Read Susan Luckman’s full bio.

Professor Denise Meredyth
University of South Australia (UniSA)

Denise Meredyth is the Pro Vice Chancellor for the Division of Education, Arts and Social Sciences at UniSA. Denise comes from a background in applied and problem-focused research in cultural, educational and social policy and has led team projects with multiple industry, government and community partners. Her current projects include a study of new ways to share public resources such as school buildings, libraries and digital platforms, through community and public-private partnerships. Denise has considerable experience as a university leader, especially in research. Her former roles include Deputy Director at the Swinburne Institute leading a series of ARC-funded projects, and Deputy Pro Vice Chancellor Research and Innovation at RMIT University.

Read Denise Meredyth’s full bio.

Monica Pfeffer 7x8

Ms Monica Pfeffer
Australia and New Zealand School of Government (ANZSOG)

Monica is the Director of Innovation and Thought Leadership at ANZSOG. Monica joined ANZSOG in 2009, after a commendable 27 years in the Victorian public service. Monica’s considerable social policy subject expertise includes: income security and State concessions; ageing; disability; health reform; health inequalities; diversity; poverty and social (in)exclusion; and Indigenous Affairs and youth justice. She has a longstanding interest in public policy and the practice of government and frequently works with government departments to help improve policy capacity.

Read Monica Pfeffer’s full bio.

Aleksandar Subic 7x8Professor Aleks Subic
Swinburne University of Technology

Aleksandar Subic is the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research and Development) at Swinburne University. Prior to this, Aleks was the Dean of Engineering and the Head of School of Aerospace, Mechanical and Manufacturing Engineering at RMIT University. Aleks is internationally recognised for his research in engineering design and advanced manufacturing, having led numerous global research and development projects in collaboration with industry, leading to important translational research outcomes and impact.

Read Aleks Subic’s full bio.